No video display

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2

26 Replies - 1428 Views - Last Post: 12 December 2012 - 07:17 AM

#1 g00se  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 2693
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11,359
  • Joined: 20-September 08

No video display

Posted 10 December 2012 - 05:48 AM

I have here a Medion desktop that describes itself as
MODEL: PC MT 14
TYPE: MED MT695G
and on the motherboard there are two identifiers
MS-7633 VER 2.0
N1996
What they call the 'MSN' number is 10014064

The problem is that on booting (no post beep) there's no sign of any video signal, either from VGA or HDMI. There's no graphics card, but onboard graphics.

I tried a brand new PCIe 16 graphics card in it and the frustrating outcome was that there was a display for about 10 seconds, never to be seen again.

How do i fix this please?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: No video display

#2 DarenR  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover

Reputation: 448
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,103
  • Joined: 12-January 10

Re: No video display

Posted 10 December 2012 - 07:19 AM

you sure its not your monitor?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 g00se  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 2693
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11,359
  • Joined: 20-September 08

Re: No video display

Posted 10 December 2012 - 07:37 AM

Yes, happens irrespective of monitor
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Toubabo Koomi
  • member icon

Reputation: 5247
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,070
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: No video display

Posted 10 December 2012 - 07:39 AM

When it boots, if you press caps lock does the caps lock light come on?

If it does, then your pc is booting correctly & it's either the cable, the monitor, or the card.
If it does not, then your pc is not booting at all. It could be anything non-video related. You could also try removing your video card (assuming it is removable) & retry the caps lock test.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 g00se  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 2693
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11,359
  • Joined: 20-September 08

Re: No video display

Posted 10 December 2012 - 09:09 AM

I just got a temporary display again (and yes, the caps thing worked) but then darkness again. Almost as if i've got a quota of 10secs of display per ten boots ;)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 DarenR  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover

Reputation: 448
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,103
  • Joined: 12-January 10

Re: No video display

Posted 10 December 2012 - 09:19 AM

so you here the computer booting up and you can still here the computer on while all this goes on correct?

Try to change the cable between the monitor and the computer
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 g00se  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 2693
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11,359
  • Joined: 20-September 08

Re: No video display

Posted 10 December 2012 - 09:22 AM

Quote

so you here the computer booting up and you can still here the computer on while all this goes on correct?
Correct

Quote

Try to change the cable between the monitor and the computer
Same effect with hdmi cable
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 DarenR  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover

Reputation: 448
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,103
  • Joined: 12-January 10

Re: No video display

Posted 10 December 2012 - 09:24 AM

did you try swapping out the ram? or checking the power supply?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 g00se  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 2693
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11,359
  • Joined: 20-September 08

Re: No video display

Posted 10 December 2012 - 09:51 AM

Former yes, latter no (don't have another)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Toubabo Koomi
  • member icon

Reputation: 5247
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,070
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: No video display

Posted 10 December 2012 - 10:07 AM

Is this a flat screen monitor? If so, how old is it? Does it possibly have a ccfl bulb (that is burnt out)?

If you unplug power from the monitor (after the pc has booted), & let it sit for a minute, & then plug it back in, do you get another 10 seconds of display?

View PostDarenR, on 10 December 2012 - 11:24 AM, said:

did you try swapping out the ram? or checking the power supply?

If the caps lock light stays responsive, then the pc is booting fine & is a display issue. Swapping ram will only waste time on this situation.

** Edit ** (last addition to this post)
Does the light on the power button of your monitor go amber or stay the color that represents display (usually blue or green).

If it goes amber, then the monitor is not receiving signal. If it stays blue/green, & there is no display, I'm inclined to suspect the monitor. Especially if the caps light stays responsive.

One more thing to check, boot into safe mode. This will load the lowest display driver available, usually VGA. Does the monitor react the same or do you get to keep your display?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 g00se  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 2693
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11,359
  • Joined: 20-September 08

Re: No video display

Posted 10 December 2012 - 10:19 AM

I thought i'd said this, but possibly not ... the same effect occurs irrespective of the monitor used
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 khedron  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: 20-October 12

Re: No video display

Posted 10 December 2012 - 02:10 PM

well you could try and reset the cmos (bios), there could be bad settings. there is usually a jumper at the bottom of the PCB that will let you do it easily or you can take out the batt and wait 10 seconds .

This post has been edited by khedron: 10 December 2012 - 02:14 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#13 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Toubabo Koomi
  • member icon

Reputation: 5247
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,070
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: No video display

Posted 10 December 2012 - 02:25 PM

If you get the BIOS screen, then the unit is passing POST. If you get 10 seconds of OS screen, then it's well beyond BIOS.

I still suggest booting into safe mode to verify video driver.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#14 DarenR  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover

Reputation: 448
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,103
  • Joined: 12-January 10

Re: No video display

Posted 10 December 2012 - 02:27 PM

well the best way to see if its a jumper or not is asking if they changed anything on the board via jumper prior to the screen going out
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#15 khedron  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: 20-October 12

Re: No video display

Posted 10 December 2012 - 02:42 PM

i only suggested the clearing the setting because some times the setting are just stable enough to post , but when the system tries to boot its not stable enough to Finnish the loop .
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2