13 Replies - 704 Views - Last Post: 10 December 2012 - 03:27 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

What engine to use?

Posted 10 December 2012 - 08:27 AM

Hi,
I'm not a complete newbie to game development, I've already got some experience with Flash and Unity 3D. But, for the next game that I'd like to create, I need an engine/library that enables me to do the following:
- Create Doom-like graphics (like raycasting) BUT with rotation over the X-axis and mouse input. So, basically, low res textures and low res for the game itself too.
- Open a folder/file or create a folder/(text) file on closing.
3D development can be very tricky in Flash, but I don't think Unity will let me manipulate files, or get me the "Doom-effect". Which engine or library do you think is best?

Thanks,
Arne Gevaert

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: What engine to use?

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: What engine to use?

Posted 10 December 2012 - 08:45 AM

What does a Doom-like graphics have to do with raycasting?

What is "Doom effect"? I seriously doubt that you would want to create/edit files or folders during runtime.

Between flash and unity3d I would suggest Unity3d for 3D game development.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 10 December 2012 - 09:04 AM