8 Replies - 5159 Views - Last Post: 19 December 2012 - 05:28 AM

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Is learning Java Enough for IT Career?

Posted 18 December 2012 - 11:28 PM

I am an IT student. I have had put up this question to one of my senior that whether merely learning Java and mastering over it, is enough for an IT career. I am bit confused to what other languages shall I learn parallel to Java. My senior told me that Master over Java, explore its core, it's enough for your career. But I want some more suggestions. Please let me know, what are the ways for an successful IT career.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Is learning Java Enough for IT Career?

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Is learning Java Enough for IT Career?

Posted 18 December 2012 - 11:32 PM

I would say 'no java is not enough'. See.. languages are just tools to solve problems, right? IF you only have one screw driver in your tool belt you'll be lacking when you need a hammer. So while knowing java's great and you can have a career with it I doubt that is all you will ever need to know. A web language, some scripting, a database or two.. Be prepared to learn something as the situation calls.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 18 December 2012 - 11:36 PM

I would say 'no java is not enough'. See.. languages are just tools to solve problems, right? IF you only have one screw driver in your tool belt you'll be lacking when you need a hammer. So while knowing java's great and you can have a career with it I doubt that is all you will ever need to know. A web language, some scripting, a database or two.. Be prepared to learn something as the situation calls.

Which language will you suggest I must take up after Java? Your suggestion will be deeply acknowledged.

Note: I know basics of C, C++, HTML, SQL, Javascript