2 Replies - 646 Views - Last Post: 19 December 2012 - 09:13 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Long time admirer taking the plunge. Oh, and hello!

Posted 19 December 2012 - 08:49 AM

Hey all,

My name's Carl and here's a little bit about myself!

I've gone through secondary school, college and University on a business route - I studied Computing, Maths, Physics and Business at college and eventually went for the Business degree at University. Though I don't regret my choice, I do miss subjects where the answers are 'definitive' and the chance to be a little more creative (not to mention a love of maths - weird I know). My time studying computing at college wasn't spent as well as it should've been and we only barely scraped the surface of PASCAL over the course of two years.

I've been thinking of taking up programming for a long time, however I've only recently decided to take the plunge. The reason for this is my love of technology, and more specifically gaming. I've been a gaming aficionado since I had my Commodore 64 and love the industry, not just the games. I always harboured a passion to create me own game with a few other people and seeing a lot of indy success (as well as failure) has finally given me the kick up the arse.

After talking to a few people I've decided to focus on C++ as this seems to be the way forward (correct me if I'm wrong - I'm looking to eventually make console games with complexity, not throwaway flash games). I've purchased a few books such as Accelerated C++, Essential C++ Techniques and Programming: Principles and Practices which will hopefully give me a base knowledge from which to work from.