12 Replies - 4515 Views - Last Post: 21 December 2012 - 02:10 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 Willabe_Rags  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 19-December 12

Hello. Just became WM of a company website, help me solve stuffs pleas

Posted 19 December 2012 - 04:43 PM

Hi, i duno if php is the right place to put this, but maybe.

the site pages are php. i got a header, a footer, main content things like this.

I cant find where my pages are? the pages in question are urls that end like .com/green-homes

is my code generating pages that will not be on my ftp?

by the way this is a word press site.

-Cheech
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Hello. Just became WM of a company website, help me solve stuffs pleas

#2 creativecoding  Icon User is offline

  • Hash != Encryption
  • member icon


Reputation: 927
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,209
  • Joined: 19-January 10

Re: Hello. Just became WM of a company website, help me solve stuffs pleas

Posted 19 December 2012 - 04:59 PM

I would guess that they have a .htaccess file redirecting files. With htaccess files you can use mod-rewrite to "rewrite" URLs. So .com/green-homes might go to a page like .com/file.php?page=green-homes

Try to find the .htaccess (usually in the topmost public directory) and post it here.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9388
  • View blog
  • Posts: 35,243
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Hello. Just became WM of a company website, help me solve stuffs pleas

Posted 19 December 2012 - 05:23 PM

Quote

I cant find where my pages are? the pages in question are urls that end like .com/green-homes

is my code generating pages that will not be on my ftp?

by the way this is a word press site.


Well yeah.. it's a word press site. That's the whole idea behind it. You "create a page" by adding text to a database table.. when a page is requested the CMS goes out, grabs the text, and shoves it into a template. There are no single files (outside the template and fringe cases) that you can just upload.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 laytonsdad  Icon User is offline

  • Cheese and Sprinkles
  • member icon

Reputation: 442
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,890
  • Joined: 30-April 10

Re: Hello. Just became WM of a company website, help me solve stuffs pleas

Posted 19 December 2012 - 06:20 PM

Web Master Huh...

looks like this may help you.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

#5 BenignDesign  Icon User is online

  • holy shitin shishkebobs
  • member icon




Reputation: 6178
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10,677
  • Joined: 28-September 07

Re: Hello. Just became WM of a company website, help me solve stuffs pleas

Posted 19 December 2012 - 06:35 PM

Posted Image
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

#6 Willabe_Rags  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 19-December 12

Re: Hello. Just became WM of a company website, help me solve stuffs pleas

Posted 20 December 2012 - 01:29 AM

Lol, thank you all so very much for your input. I am a new membur, let me just say i am finding this site to be a mixed bag of feedback.

The Owner of my newly acquired site blew up my phone saying he had an urgent message. Apparently someone contacted him and said it was very unprofessional that i asked this ?

To this i say thank you for your concern, and well being of my site, my apologies for asking ..

Thank you to those who sent me constructive feed back it is much appreciated. :)

View Postcreativecoding, on 19 December 2012 - 04:59 PM, said:

I would guess that they have a .htaccess file redirecting files. With htaccess files you can use mod-rewrite to "rewrite" URLs. So .com/green-homes might go to a page like .com/file.php?page=green-homes

Try to find the .htaccess (usually in the topmost public directory) and post it here.


I have been seeing a lot about the .htaccess file. So if one were to want to generate a new directory, they would need to do it in this file ?

-Cheech
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 creativecoding  Icon User is offline

  • Hash != Encryption
  • member icon


Reputation: 927
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,209
  • Joined: 19-January 10

Re: Hello. Just became WM of a company website, help me solve stuffs pleas

Posted 20 December 2012 - 01:47 AM

well, uh, no. If you want to make a new directory you can just do that however your OS does that...

I'm not sure about everything .htaccess can do, but some of the popular things include password-protecting files and folders, and like I've mentioned before, mod-rewrite.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 laytonsdad  Icon User is offline

  • Cheese and Sprinkles
  • member icon

Reputation: 442
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,890
  • Joined: 30-April 10

Re: Hello. Just became WM of a company website, help me solve stuffs pleas

Posted 20 December 2012 - 02:48 AM

http://www.htaccess-guide.com/

I have found this site useful for .htaccess questions. I hope this helps.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 Jstall  Icon User is offline

  • Lurker
  • member icon

Reputation: 434
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,042
  • Joined: 08-March 09

Re: Hello. Just became WM of a company website, help me solve stuffs pleas

Posted 20 December 2012 - 09:09 AM

@ OP - What are your responsibilities as "Web Master"? Do you just need to use the Wordpress CMS to create/update/delete content? Or are you actually required to code things?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 5363
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,325
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Hello. Just became WM of a company website, help me solve stuffs pleas

Posted 20 December 2012 - 09:12 AM

If you don't have any experience with .htaccess (& value your job) don't touch the files in production.

Setup a learning environment that you can break as you learn, & not get a cardboard box in the process :)
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

#11 Willabe_Rags  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 19-December 12

Re: Hello. Just became WM of a company website, help me solve stuffs pleas

Posted 21 December 2012 - 12:58 AM

creativecoding >> thank you
laytonsdad >> thank you
Jstall >> to be completely honest, im a packet monkey that has seen may of days. i used to mess around with geocities to give you an idea. my friend chong has a nice company / website with a programmer who left him high and dry, and this is where i come in. Ive seen and done some things, but as far as wordpress, i am learning as i go. So I have had to learn what this was all about and how the last coder did his damn thing. Real fun like.
no2pencil> creating a test site is out of the question because most of the code must have relative links because it would not work properly outside of that dir.

the main code in question is really the left hand navigation. the pages are in an algorithm with parents and children. i am slowly understanding. the wordpress content is submitted and this shell i am providing is the left hand nav, footer and what not...

keep the positive feedback coming my way !!

Does anyone have WP experience ???

-Cheech
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 laytonsdad  Icon User is offline

  • Cheese and Sprinkles
  • member icon

Reputation: 442
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,890
  • Joined: 30-April 10

Re: Hello. Just became WM of a company website, help me solve stuffs pleas

Posted 21 December 2012 - 02:02 AM

Willabe_Rags,

There are many here that have experience with word press; Although you will get more from this community if you ask specific questions about issues you are having.

It is hard to guess what information will help you on your way. Please don't hesitate to ask if you run into something you can't find an answer to.

EDIT: Add below content-

Quote

creating a test site is out of the question because most of the code must have relative links because it would not work properly outside of that dir.


Take a look at xampp it is a development environment that you can use like a local server for apatche - php - mysql.

You can also add a copy of your wordpress site along with a copy of your mysql database to test changes with out breaking the one on the server.

http://www.wikihow.c...dpress-on-XAMPP

This link may also help you.

This post has been edited by laytonsdad: 21 December 2012 - 02:18 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#13 creativecoding  Icon User is offline

  • Hash != Encryption
  • member icon


Reputation: 927
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,209
  • Joined: 19-January 10

Re: Hello. Just became WM of a company website, help me solve stuffs pleas

Posted 21 December 2012 - 02:10 AM

What no2 was saying is that you should setup a test environment for you to learn in. You don't necessarily have to have the same exact site that your company has. Just install something like Wamp or XAMPP (if you have Windows) and then install Wordpress and fiddle around with that until you're familiar with how it works.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1