10 Replies - 5435 Views - Last Post: 28 December 2012 - 10:32 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Subjects for IT and CS

Posted 22 December 2012 - 08:13 PM

I am currently studying at a State University with a BSIT Program. In my course, it seems like my professors are not teaching us that much about a certain programming language like Java. In my first year, they taught us C Language with two semesters, then second year, 1st semester is OOP and now second semester Java. Actually, I felt that I want to be a programmer someday but I think in my course, they will not teach that much about pure programming because I'm not a CS student. Now, what I'm doing instead is reading e-books for Java. I'm just self-studying for my future field.. It's so stressful thinking if I'm on the right way. May I ask your suggestions regarding the subjects or first things first like for example, the first topic that I should be studying is OOP before Java. I'll wait for your suggestions. Thanks in advance. :D

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Subjects for IT and CS

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Subjects for IT and CS

Posted 23 December 2012 - 12:23 AM

No CS or IT course teaches pure programming... that I know of. They teach you the ideas behind the languages because that is more important. The idea here is if they teach you about the concepts and patterns behind solving computing problems, who cares what the end language is! If I teach you about searching a sorted array with a binary algorithm, then you could then theoretically apply the same idea to Java, C++, C, Python you name it. This is what you want.