88 Replies - 13715 Views - Last Post: 15 January 2013 - 12:07 PM

#61 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is online

• Screw Trump (before he screws you)
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Taking public information too far?

Posted 28 December 2012 - 10:05 AM

View PostPython_4_President, on 28 December 2012 - 11:49 AM, said:

If you wanted to reduce things even further, you could just live inside of a sub-terranean steel box your entire life, or just not even exist at all. How can you shoot someone that doesn't exist? Non-existent people don't get the flu, either, or cancer!

Straw man is floppy and cannot stand on his own!

Obviously, if you get some utility out of playing with firearms, then you evaluate the risks and proceed accordingly. But if you're not into shooting, this is completely irrelevant. I'm a musician, my ears are already fucked, I'd put utility on not being in a room full of exploding stuff. Maybe you're stupid and like handling firearms while loaded - fine, as long as you're nowhere near anyone who hasn't agreed to be put at risk, great. Of course, if there's anyone within range who hasn't agreed to this, you're an asshole and should die, but I assume that's not the case.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• I make this look good
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 28 December 2012 - 10:23 AM

View Postfarrell2k, on 28 December 2012 - 02:26 AM, said:

View PostCraig328, on 28 December 2012 - 05:51 AM, said:

You seem to suggest that the onus is on the potential victim to lower their risk of being a victim of a crime.

It is. It's exactly why we teach drivers to drive defensively.

The entire reason gun owners carry is is to....wait for it....lower their risk of being a victim of a crime. Do you think before you write this stuff?

I mean, let's dispense with the patent inanity of a serious effort to "avoid guns".

I avoid shaking hands with people during flu season. You can only get the flu when exposed to it...