2 Replies - 1231 Views - Last Post: 25 December 2012 - 03:46 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Continue Mathematics when studying CS?

Posted 25 December 2012 - 12:39 PM

I am currently in my second year of a bachelor and I need some advice with a decision. I have the choice to do a bachelor that is purely CS or one that is CS/Maths split. I am convinced that in the end I will end up doing something in CS. My interest lay with crytopgraphy and complex algorithms (computability theory) and I know that these areas require quite a bit of mathematics. My question therefore is if I should continue taking the math courses.
On the one hand I spend a lot more time studying mathematics (the ratio math/CS is about 70/30) where I could as well be writing code or study something that I am passionate about. On top, the math courses are often not related to the areas that interest me. For example I see a point in learning some number theory, but not a Fourrier series. On the other hand I have the articles mentioned below which suggest to take as much maths as possible.
Currently I feel a lot more attracted to just doing CS because it annoys me that I spend a lot more time doing mathematics. Should I continue to study the maths that I find useful on my own and go for bachelor purely in CS or should I continue the general mathematics courses?
I appreciate every suggestion and personal experience.

I have read these two articles on the subject :
www.math.nus.edu.sg/~mattyc/CS.Maths.pdf
www.users.dickinson.edu/~jmac/selected-talks/math-and-cs-talk.pdf

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Continue Mathematics when studying CS?

#2 Martyr2  Icon User is online

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Continue Mathematics when studying CS?

Posted 25 December 2012 - 03:15 PM