2 Replies - 5974 Views - Last Post: 28 December 2012 - 10:47 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

ASP.NET with VB.NET, trying to connect to remote MySQL database

Posted 27 December 2012 - 10:29 PM

I have many years of experience with VB.NET but I am relatively new to ASP.NET. This is my first post here.

I am trying to connect to a remote MySQL database with an ASP.NET page with VB.NET code behind it and I am having all kinds of strange problems. I think all I need is to get the connection string right. This example includes all of the options I have been trying:

MySQLconn = New MySqlConnection("server=mysql.mydomain.com;port=3306;user=username;pwd=password;database=databasename;pooling=false;")

Tried "user", "user id" and "uid"
Tried "password" and "pwd"
Tried with and without the port
Tried with and without the pooling (without setting it to false, I get all kinds of other errors)
Tried with database and without</div> <div>Tried with "mysql.mydomain.com" and "mydomain.com"
Tried with different databases, different users, changing those users' passwords (yes, I was grasping at straws...)</div>

I get:

MySql.Data.MySqlClient.MySqlException (0x80004005): Unable to connect to any of the specified MySQL hosts. at MySql.Data.MySqlClient.NativeDriver.Open() at MySql.Data.MySqlClient.Driver.open() at MySql.Data.MySqlClient.Driver.Create(MySqlConnectionStringBuilder settings) at MySql.Data.MySqlClient.MySqlConnection.Open() at button_click_event(Object sender, EventArgs e) in code_filename:line 70 at server=mysql.mydomain.com;database=database;user=username;password=password;pooling=false

I can connect to this database with PHP and I can ping mysql.mydomain.com, yet I cannot telnet the server nor have I gotten it to connect with ASP.NET. I have been on Google and all over the internet for DAYS and I am slowly going insane...

Can anyone offer me any assistance? I would be MOST appreciative.

Humbly,

Shaun

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +