14 Replies - 1505 Views - Last Post: 29 December 2012 - 01:16 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

What are possible career paths for me to take as software developer?

Posted 29 December 2012 - 09:27 AM

Hey everyone! :)
I am a junior developer. I have a basic programming knowledge (Java, C#, PHP, RoR, HTML,CSS,JS,Jquery, AJAX).
So I am looking for my first job now, but there are so many possibilities! Enterprise, mobile, web-development, standalone software, games...

Can you please explain me what are possible career paths for me to take as software developer? Would be awesome if you can write somewhat a list of them explaining what exactly will I work on, will I work in big companys or startups, what kind of projects, how many people working on each, is average job-market salary bigger/less compared to other paths and so on. Like brief review of each software development direction explaining what will my job look like and what are salarys in this direction compared to others.
Thanks alot!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: What are possible career paths for me to take as software developer?

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: What are possible career paths for me to take as software developer?

Posted 29 December 2012 - 09:34 AM

Can you please explain me what are possible career paths for me to take as software developer?

Didn't you just list a lot of them?

Would be awesome if you can write somewhat a list of them explaining what exactly will I work on,

That depends on the company and department.

will I work in big companys or startups,

That depends on the company you apply to.

what kind of projects,

how many people working on each,

is average job-market salary bigger/less compared to other paths and so on.

check your local job boards or salary.com

Like brief review of each software development direction explaining what will my job look like and what are salarys in this direction compared to others.