Holding The Execution Window Open

Title 2: How do I pause for input?

  • (7 Pages)
  • +
  • « First
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7

91 Replies - 65974 Views - Last Post: 31 December 2010 - 08:36 AM Rate Topic: -----

#91 eker676  Icon User is offline

  • Software Engineer
  • member icon

Reputation: 378
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,833
  • Joined: 18-April 09

Re: Holding The Execution Window Open

Posted 17 May 2010 - 06:54 PM

Just for future reference you can choose the 'Start without Debugging' option in VS. It automatically pauses the program at the end.

In VS 2010 you may have to add the option by customizing the toolbar but it's there.

This post has been edited by eker676: 17 May 2010 - 06:55 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#92 r.stiltskin  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 1833
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,927
  • Joined: 27-December 05

Re: Holding The Execution Window Open

Posted 31 December 2010 - 08:36 AM

Ah, well, it's been too long since there's been any activity on this 3-1/2 year old thread. :lol:

I installed Visual C++ 2010 Express on an old Windows XP laptop a week or so ago & am playing around with it a bit. It doesn't seem to have anything equivalent to the Code::Blocks build option "Pause when execution ends". I noticed these references to the "Start without debugging" option, I see that, but it doesn't seem to have this claimed effect of pausing the execution window. The winodow still closes as soon as the program terminates. Is this something that varies depending on the version of VS2010? I have Version 10.0.30319.1 RTMRel.

Please let's not reopen the whole discussion about get(), PAUSE, ignore(), command prompts, etc, etc. I'm only asking about the behavior of Microsoft's IDE.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

  • (7 Pages)
  • +
  • « First
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7