2 Replies - 815 Views - Last Post: 07 January 2013 - 12:01 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Calling all Web Designers

Posted 06 January 2013 - 09:59 PM

Hello everyone,

I am pretty new to the professional web design world and I have a potential client lined up who wants an estimate based on price per page. I'm used to dealing with prices by the hour and I'm not sure how I go about figuring out what my cost per page is. The job entails copying content from an old site into a new Wordpress site. We're talking like 5-7 pages of content.

I don't want to sell myself short, but at the same time I don't want to scare them away with too high a price. What would you more experienced designers suggest? What do you charge per page, or per hour? The client is not a major company. In fact, it is an author who is not particularly famous or anything.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks so much!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Calling all Web Designers

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Calling all Web Designers

Posted 06 January 2013 - 10:10 PM

Tell them what your price per hour is and that each page will cost X hours. I suggest this because they may request additional changes on a page that may take you a long time. You don't want to be cutting yourself out of money. Remember, clients often change their mind on things and some flat out lie.

If you quote them per page (which btw is not how it is typically done... it is per hour because of the additional complexity that sudden changes may require) then if they want something else done to the page they will expect you to stick to your initial quote. If you price per hour then if they start asking for changes you can say "Sure, that will be an extra half hour. Do you still want that?"