5 Replies - 12644 Views - Last Post: 14 January 2013 - 06:00 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

run time error 53 - file not found

Posted 07 January 2013 - 06:03 PM

vb6 program (XP SP3)won't run in design mode - get "run time error 53 - file not found" pop-up. Have checked spelling of file and in the open statement. the file is in the same directory as the program. never had this problem before. error always occurs at
 Open "113Data.txt" For Input As #1  
which is the first thing the program does.

I can put a vb2010 program data file name (which is in a different directory) in the above open statement and it will go get it and load it with no problem.

All I have been able to find is that a .dll file is missing or corrupted, but no hint as to which .dll or where it is located or what to do about it.

I'm an old rookie. I'm using VB6 because the vb2010 program I wrote for my wife's desktop (XP SP3)won't load on her laptop (XP SP3) because of "no certified jit debugger" although it has the required .NET platform installed. If you could help me on this one the VB6 question won't be critical, although I would still like to know about the error 53 problem.

Thanks for anything you can share.

Joe Willie

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: run time error 53 - file not found

#2 tlhIn`toq  Icon User is online

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: run time error 53 - file not found

Posted 08 January 2013 - 08:59 AM

Its possible to put non-printing characters in a file name.
Maybe a test function to retrieve all the file names from the application directory, then example them as a byte[] to see if there is something hinky going on.

Or just rename the file in Windows Explorer so you know its not odd, then try again with the new name.