7 Replies - 512 Views - Last Post: 13 January 2013 - 12:41 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

VS 2012 SQL server online question

Posted 09 January 2013 - 10:49 AM

Hi, I am new at VS SQL and would like to know how to create a SQL server that can be accessed online (a store and retrieve point)

I tried to search for tutorials and I wasn't successful. I kept on finding (how to create an SQL server, but I don't know how to use it as well as if it is online or not? (can all SQL servers be retrieved online)

So my point is.. can someone please help to a link or show me the right path to begin a SQL server online database.

What I like to achieve is to store X online and retrieve it from any computer with internet (as well as the VS program) and "Load" it into (Example X = textbox1.text) and save the textbox1.text as X online.

Example : A message system that sends and retrieves messages (from user 1 to the server then to user 2)

I hope someone can please help me... have tried to achieve this along time ago but I wasn't successful.

If there is a better way (besides SQL server database to do the same objective please let me know) I was told to create a SQL - because VS gives the ability.

Please, please help me..(I have quit an experience with VB Express Edition 2008 basic stuff) but have NO knowledge on SQL/databases.

Please and Thanks you!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: VS 2012 SQL server online question

• Master(Of Foo)
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: VS 2012 SQL server online question

Posted 09 January 2013 - 12:01 PM

You need a hosting site where they support MS SQL. SQL Server Management Studio allows you to connect to your database to create and edit. The way your site connects to the DB is by a connection string and a database objects like Entity Framework and ADO objects. ASPX is perfectly capable for databinding as well. Do you know what you will be using as far as your web pages?