1 Replies - 6053 Views - Last Post: 17 January 2013 - 01:08 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How to authenticate Google Calendar API via local python script?

Posted 12 January 2013 - 03:44 AM

Hello

I'm a newbie to python programming but have some (not extensive) experience with html, php and vb6 if it helps.

I have recently purchased a Raspberry Pi computer to tinker with which some of you may be familiar with. I'm using a thermal printer and the printer.py script from here to print various things, I have also managed to adapt the script to my needs and am comfortable working with this particular script.

I would like to connect to Google Calendar via a python script and pull down each day's calendar events and print a list via the printer.py script. From what I have read it should be fairly simple to grab the information via the API and print it, what I could use some help with is authenticating my Google account to begin with as I haven't worked with anything involving authentication before.

I have read about AuthSub, OAuth, session tokens and magic cookies as mentioned on the Google website but it's all a bit confusing to me, they say they are for web-based apps, am I right in assuming it's possible to port them to a python script? If anyone could direct me to some code samples it would be appreciated. There are some samples on the Google page here but these are for web based apps, mine would be run in a terminal window not a website so if someone could offer some pointers to adapt the script it would be very helpful.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How to authenticate Google Calendar API via local python script?

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How to authenticate Google Calendar API via local python script?

Posted 17 January 2013 - 01:08 AM

View Postfitzy75, on 12 January 2013 - 04:44 AM, said: