5 Replies - 2668 Views - Last Post: 14 January 2013 - 09:23 PM

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

What is UI Developer vs. UI Designer?

Posted 13 January 2013 - 09:13 PM

Hi all,
I just graduated last semester and now Iím looking for a junior position as a Developer.
While searching for jobs I keep coming across UI Developer, UI Designer, and Frontend Developer
What is the definition/different of each?
My degree is in Computer Science, and the program I studied was intense in Algorithm Analysis, Advance Math Courses, and Science course.
I can read books and learn about good practice for designing, but this would still not make me a good designer.
I have no artistic skills and no designing skills.
My main question and concern is? Do UI Developers and Frontend Developers need to know how to design?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: What is UI Developer vs. UI Designer?

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: What is UI Developer vs. UI Designer?

Posted 13 January 2013 - 10:01 PM

There is not much of a difference really. One thing you have to quickly learn about industry is that there are like 10 different titles for almost any position.

Now whenever you see developer/designer it usually means one is is a code writer and the other is an artist. For instance I am a developer at work, I work with a designer who comes up with the graphics and is in charge of the "look". I am the one who takes that vision and makes it work by writing code.

But in many companies this could be the same person. Don't get caught up on the title, look at what they are asking for skills. Developers tend to have to do a little design from time to time. I can't go to my boss and say "Nope, I am not going to create a gradient button, that is the designer's job!"

:)

This post has been edited by Martyr2: 13 January 2013 - 10:02 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.