• (2 Pages)
  • +

21 Replies - 1253 Views - Last Post: 26 January 2013 - 10:56 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Good 'step up' langauge from VB.NET

Posted 15 January 2013 - 01:26 PM

Hi forum.

I am a student and I am currently studying programming mostly in VB.NET I want to invest myself in a more advanced programming language for when I go out in the world of work. I know VB is good language but it's so easy once you know your way around.
what do you recommend as a coding language to learn?
I was thinking Java or C++ but I don't know what way the programming sector of IT is moving as I do not have experience in the sector other than my college.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Good 'step up' langauge from VB.NET

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Good 'step up' langauge from VB.NET

Posted 15 January 2013 - 01:27 PM

Have you tried looking at the online job boards for your area? That may help you figure out what is going on.. of course I might advocate learning LISP.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Posted 15 January 2013 - 01:35 PM

VB.NET is an excellent beginner language and can in some areas lead to some good positions. If you are wanting to move up, I'd recommend C#, C++, or Java. Any of them are still in demand. C# still uses the .NET framework, so while the transitions will involve it's fair share of ground teeth, it won't be completely foreign. I've been taking a few C++ courses in evening college while coding during the day in VB/C#.NET. It's somewhat different, but overall I've moved through it at a fair pace. Much prefer VB or C# myself though.

As for Java, I'll let someone else jump in about that one. I've had a course in it, but personally have no interest outside of development for a few Android Apps.

If you really want to challenge yourself with any language, even if it's just trying to get a better grasp on VB, try out Project Euler.