6 Replies - 588 Views - Last Post: 21 January 2013 - 05:53 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Interest in Game programming

Posted 15 January 2013 - 07:43 PM

I'm relatively new to programming in some ways. I just completed my AS in Comp Science last summer and have studied in C++, Java, VB, and SQL. My interest in programming is ever growing and I seek out new challenges, I also have an 11 yr old son who expressed a common interest in learning how to make a 2d rpg. I honestly don't have the first inclination on how to proceed but I do have Visual Studio 2010 and got a copy of XNA 4.0. I keep hearing C# is a preferred language for this kind of project but I have not had the occasion to get into C# yet.
I know that I will of course have to become familiar with C# for it to even matter, and I plan on it. But if someone much wiser than myself had useful input for a programmer with an avid interest in out craft I would be thankful, as would my son.

Thank you for your time and input.
W

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Interest in Game programming

#2 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Interest in Game programming

Posted 15 January 2013 - 07:53 PM

Moved to Game Programming.

The XNA Framework (C#) is a common tool for amateurs and hobbyists. C++ is another common language. If you want to go the C# route, you should check out our C# Learning Series.

You should also check out the pinned New to Game Programming and DIC resource thread.

The other thing that is important to mention is that Game Programming is a lot harder than regular programming for a lot of reasons. It requires a lot of architecture and good design. Make sure you focus on learning a language first before you really delve into Game Programming. A 2D RPG is really a long ways off from where you are now.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Posted 15 January 2013 - 08:59 PM