4 Replies - 673 Views - Last Post: 16 January 2013 - 03:45 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

The next step

Posted 16 January 2013 - 08:33 AM

This may sound like a strange questions and I am not sure its in the right place (And apologies to moderators in advance if it is!) but.....

How do you take the next step with your coding? At the moment I understand the Fundamentals of OO Programing etc. and can read and understand the majority of the code I find online but when I read through tutorials etc I fail to understand how they come up with "I will start with X class" or "I will use Y pattern". (Although I can implement and understand them well enough!)

I work as a professional "software developer" and I can fix most bugs at 100 yards. I can build small additional pieces to an existing system (Usually based of an existing logic.)

But how do you get to the "This is the problem" and then think up and "Elegant solution". I can refactor code so it runs a little better/looks better but at the end of the day its always "basic".

I keep getting the feeling I am a hacker who got lucky!

Everyone treats me like I should know, that I am MUCH better than I am....but I donít. It's like laughing at a joke that you don't understand.

As I said I hope this makes sense and that someone can't point me in the right direction.

Kevin

P.S I have a first class degree in software engineering and one and a half years of commercial experience.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: The next step

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: The next step

Posted 16 January 2013 - 08:37 AM

But how do you get to the "This is the problem" and then think up and "Elegant solution". I can refactor code so it runs a little better/looks better but at the end of the day its always "basic".