2 Replies - 226 Views - Last Post: 19 January 2013 - 02:22 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Data Entry, Tabbing

Posted 19 January 2013 - 02:15 PM

Hi all,

I'm new to VB 2005, and to put it simply, this is what I'm writing:

It is a form that has 250+ combo boxes whose possible values are 0, 1, 2 and 3. The default values for all of the combo boxes is zero. I want this window to open and the focus to be on the first combo box and the zero highlighted. When either 0, 1, 2 or 3 is entered, I want the focus to jump to the next box and have the zero highlighted. Essentially, I want the user to be able to enter 1, 2, 3, 1, 3, 2... etc without having to tab.

Thanks in advance

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Data Entry, Tabbing

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Data Entry, Tabbing

Posted 19 January 2013 - 02:21 PM

To clarify, I'd like the user to only have to punch 0 through 3 269 times. How do I highlight the default value, and prior to that, how to I tab forward after a validated value (0-3)?

View Postcarpentierpj, on 19 January 2013 - 02:15 PM, said:

Hi all,

I'm new to VB 2005, and to put it simply, this is what I'm writing:

It is a form that has 250+ combo boxes whose possible values are 0, 1, 2 and 3. The default values for all of the combo boxes is zero. I want this window to open and the focus to be on the first combo box and the zero highlighted. When either 0, 1, 2 or 3 is entered, I want the focus to jump to the next box and have the zero highlighted. Essentially, I want the user to be able to enter 1, 2, 3, 1, 3, 2... etc without having to tab.

Thanks in advance

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Data Entry, Tabbing

Posted 19 January 2013 - 02:22 PM

React to the the .SelectedIndexedChanged event, then set the focus to the next control.