7 Replies - 398 Views - Last Post: 19 January 2013 - 06:43 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Non - CS student getting into Game Development

Posted 19 January 2013 - 03:54 PM

Hey all!

So I am not a CS student but, as many out there, love gaming and am thinking about maybe pursuing trying to get involved in the gaming industry, if possible. Now, my main concerns have to do with getting into it. I will first off say I am an Aerospace Engineering student at UIUC. I have had a couple software internships in the previous years and have done extensive programming in Java, C, C++, MATLAB and a bit of programming in Python. I have learned a little bit of OpenGL but definitely not enough to matter. I have developed a couple games using Allegro. My latest ones, one made two years ago and the other a year ago, were more like an asteroid games with some fancy weapons. The most recent one of them used OpenCV as well so then one's webcam would track the player's hands and that in turn would move your spaceship and choose the direction to face and shoot(I learned some image processing techniques when I built some tracking algorithms for a UAV at school).