13 Replies - 3227 Views - Last Post: 26 January 2013 - 07:15 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Draw rectangle with DirectX?

Posted 24 January 2013 - 08:16 AM

Alright, so I've been teaching myself programming, mainly for game development. I started off small, learning javascript and python, but later jumped over to software-based languages such as c++ and DirectX.

Now, I learn by looking at code, because I'm a visual learner. I look at the code, dissect it, and if I don't understand a symbol, or the reason why something was written, I look it up. I've been doing fairy good up until now, DirectX seems to make C++ very complicated, but then again, I'm self-taught.

What I was hoping to find out from you guys is this, suppose I wanted to learn about the Direct2D method of using sprites. I want to see how a rectangle would be drawn using the Direct2D API, and if I have to use a texture, or can I just use a solid color for learning purposes.

I have a fairly good understanding of C++, but trying to learn DirectX has thrown me through a loop. I have no idea how to go about drawing anything in a win32 program, I was able to create the actual window, but I haven't been able to find anything online in terms of creating a simple shape.

Could somebody please help me with this? Or at least point me in the right direction. I'm thinking of going to college for this, but if I can't figure out something as simple as this, I may not waste my time.

Thank you and I look forward to your response.

This post has been edited by N1ghtm4r3: 24 January 2013 - 08:18 AM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Draw rectangle with DirectX?

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Draw rectangle with DirectX?

Posted 24 January 2013 - 08:31 AM