3 Replies - 1576 Views - Last Post: 25 January 2013 - 09:11 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Trying to articulate a problem I am having

Posted 24 January 2013 - 06:48 PM

Hello all,

So I have been developing for about a year and a half now and I have a self assessment to complete. Part of the assessment is focused around goals and accomplishments that I want to achieve over the next 6 month to a year.

I am comfortable with the technologies and languages we are using at my work and the code I produce is up to par with what is expected of me. My main issue in my career is not the quality of my code, but how I am engineering. For example, I can code for a case, but have hard time coding it in an abstract way so it can be reused by other parts of the system for the same use case. Let me say here that I am a self taught programmer with very little college experience.

My question to you guys is 'How can I take my desires stated above and articulate that into deliverables / goals?'

I don't really want to read another 'Write a program in X language in 24 hours' or deal with anything that is concentrating on a specific language. My purpose here is to provide a way for me to grow as an engineer, not necessarily a programmer. (Not sure if that makes sense :/ )

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 2
  • +

Replies To: Trying to articulate a problem I am having

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Trying to articulate a problem I am having

Posted 24 January 2013 - 08:19 PM

It's good that you want to generalize patterns you code over and over again, if that's the case. The problem is (at least in my experience) that one must justify this expenditure of time in terms of short term planning--this is especially true in 'extreme' or 'agile' (or whatever the buzzword may be) development.