4 Replies - 1680 Views - Last Post: 30 July 2007 - 11:57 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Getting Started with a Text Based Game.

Posted 28 July 2007 - 03:42 PM

I am looking at creating a Text based game, in PHP.
I just started learning PHP about 2 days ago, and I have so far, only created a Login/Register System, using MySQL.

I am not sure whether or not I am going to be tackling on this project by myself or with a friend of mine.

The game is going to be a Tycoon sortof game, where you build buildings, and can upgrade, etc. Closer to the road gives a bigger boost for more traffic. You could also vandalize other peoples property. (Bomb, Graffiti, etc.)

How would I go about starting my project?

Thanks,
-anow2

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Getting Started with a Text Based Game.

• Barbarbar
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Getting Started with a Text Based Game.

Posted 28 July 2007 - 11:10 PM

Writing your authentication system first seems like a good idea to me - it's generally the course I follow when I'm building something too.

Once you've gotten that part down, start with the simplest and least inter-linked part of the system. That might seem weird, but it works.

Let's say you have 2 options: letting players choose where to place a building, and letting players customize a building based on where it was placed. You'd probably want to work on the first segment first, and then work on the systems that required it afterwards.

That's the process I follow, though. Your mileage may vary.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 29 July 2007 - 04:50 PM