5 Replies - 1156 Views - Last Post: 10 February 2013 - 10:59 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Ideas on saving PDF files while opening it in embedded form in vb6

Posted 27 January 2013 - 09:35 AM

Hi everyone,
I am new to programming. Someone introduced me to VB6 and it worked for me so far in achieving what I want to achieve so far. Until recently, I discovered that I need to save PDF files while it is opened in an embedded form in VB6 application that I wrote. I am using Foxit reader library. I need my users to create bookmarks on the documents they see and allow them to save and replace the document in the same location. However, the file could not be replaced as it is opened by my application. I need the file to be exactly the same name and to be in the same folder for subsequent processing. So saving it as a different filename is not an option for me.

Any ideas how I can allow saving and replacing the files that my users are viewing using the Foxit 1.0 type library?

Thank you.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Ideas on saving PDF files while opening it in embedded form in vb6

• Fire giant boob nipple gun!
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Ideas on saving PDF files while opening it in embedded form in vb6

Posted 27 January 2013 - 09:42 AM

Assuming the document is not open in edit-mode (so that you could just save it), I suppose you could:

Save your new version to the temp folder;
Close the open version;
Delete it (probably create a back-up copy firstly though);
Rename the version in the temp folder.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 27 January 2013 - 05:40 PM

View Postandrewsw, on 27 January 2013 - 09:42 AM, said:

Assuming the document is not open in edit-mode (so that you could just save it), I suppose you could:

Save your new version to the temp folder;
Close the open version;
Delete it (probably create a back-up copy firstly though);