11 Replies - 391 Views - Last Post: 28 January 2013 - 01:56 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

static confusion - methods and rules

Posted 28 January 2013 - 12:16 PM

Hi I am fairly new to C#, but studied one module of VB at university..

now i have grabbed the concepts of classes, inheritance, constructors etc..

but what i am struggling with is the definition and using of Static. Am i right in thinking static variables and methods do not need initialised, and can only call variables from their own class?

what confuses me is that I see a lot of tutorials and examples initialising class variables / properties from other classes within a STATIC Void MAIN method.. Which is confusing as i thought that static methods could only call static variables / methods..

can anyone explain this in lehman terms for me about static variables, methods and things like that.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: static confusion - methods and rules

#2 tlhIn`toq  Icon User is online

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: static confusion - methods and rules

Posted 28 January 2013 - 12:29 PM

static is better thought of as "one instance across all implimentations"

Let's say you have a class of DisplayMonitors and you use that in various classes in your program.

It would be silly to make numerious instances of DisplayMonitors since they all would have identical information for your screens.

You could make a static DisplayMonitors so when you set 'PreferredStartupScreen' in one class that same one and only shared instance is used by all other classes.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 AdamSpeight2008  Icon User is online

• MrCupOfT
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 28 January 2013 - 12:29 PM

Think of static as defining a method or member that is shared among all instances of that class or structure.

class Example
{
  static readonly System.DateTime _BirthTime;