4 Replies - 4408 Views - Last Post: 29 January 2013 - 06:03 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Javascript not working in IE8

Posted 29 January 2013 - 05:14 AM

This problem has been driving me nuts for the last 48 hours.

I am new to developing websites in HTML/CSS/Javascript. I come from a Actionscript background so learning how to code in each of those languages is not a massive challenge. I am half way through coding my new online portfolio and I am using Javascript with the Greensock TweenMax library to take care of all the fancy animations.

That said, everything works very well in Chrome and FF but when I try open the website in IE8, locally or not, it stops at the very first line of my Javascript code and the page simply will not work.

The first line in my JS is used to trigger a function (init) once the DOM has loaded and goes something like this:

document.addEventListener('DOMContentLoaded', init, false);

which I have changed to:

document.attachEvent('DOMContentLoaded', init, false);

in order for it to work in IE8 but with no luck.

I am stuck there. IE is ignoring all the rest of my lovely JS code because of that error. Any ideas?

I am surprised that so many people are talking about the demise of Flash when coding websites in HTML requires one to work around all the silly exceptions demanded by each browser!!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Javascript not working in IE8

#2 andrewsw  Icon User is online

• It's just been revoked!
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Javascript not working in IE8

Posted 29 January 2013 - 05:31 AM

document.attachEvent('DOMContentLoaded', init, false);

attachEvent uses 'on' and only has two arguments:

document.attachEvent('onDOMContentLoaded', init);

but DOMContentLoaded is only supported from IE9

MDN