Python vs. C For Game Programming

• (2 Pages)
  • +

16 Replies - 2545 Views - Last Post: 03 February 2013 - 07:10 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Python vs. C For Game Programming

Posted 02 February 2013 - 10:35 PM

Hello there, I'm Brett. I started coding this past July, and have learned HTML and CSS. I am looking to move on, and have looked into Javascript, which I dislike, Python, which is fairly easy and seems useful, and possibly C, which would prepare me for Java. I would like to hear your(Any Game-developer) opinion on which direction I move on to. I'm thinking C or Python. If you have any reasons why I should choose one over the other, or learn something else, I would love to here from you!

This post has been edited by macosxnerd101: 02 February 2013 - 11:26 PM
Reason for edit:: Please use a descriptive title

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Python vs. C For Game Programming

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Python vs. C For Game Programming

Posted 03 February 2013 - 12:07 AM

First up I doubt anyone would really use C for any modern game, C++ is what you would be using.

C++ is great for performance and there is a lot of support out there, however it has many issues that a lot of people find annoying or hard to work get the hang of. More information about this is detailed HERE and HERE.

Python has much less issues and they are in general not as annoying as C++ issues. However one large problem with python for serious game development is performance but more on that in a moment.