12 Replies - 1372 Views - Last Post: 05 February 2013 - 06:26 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

I'm A Little Down, Need Input

Posted 05 February 2013 - 10:37 AM

So after my first project, I realized that I SUCK at figuring out project specs.

I am a female programmer, so I'm always trying to go further and beyond to prove my worthiness.

I can admit, that understanding specs is a weak point for me right now.

I want to be able to read specs and instantly know where to start and how to finish.

I also want to become very savy with java code. Should I just read lots and lots of code, until it becomes second nature?
Is there any advice from my fellow D.I.C family?

Thanks !

ladyJava (:

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 3
  • +

Replies To: I'm A Little Down, Need Input

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Re: I'm A Little Down, Need Input

Posted 05 February 2013 - 10:41 AM

It's common. After a lot of people's first project they feel overwhelmed "how can I ever remember all of this", "I would never think to do that" etc etc.

The thing you have to remember is that it is your first project. You have plenty of time. Just keep on coding. Its the best way to learn. Don't be worried about not being able to read the specs. It will come naturally when you get more comfortable and familiar with coding. As I said its common.

If this was you're 25th project then I would say maybe this is not for you. But it's your first. You will get better.
Was This Post Helpful? 4
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 05 February 2013 - 10:56 AM

POPULAR

So after my first project, I realized that I SUCK at figuring out project specs.

Don't worry about it. This will come with time.

I am a female programmer, so I'm always trying to go further and beyond to prove my worthiness.