6 Replies - 1306 Views - Last Post: 08 February 2013 - 10:26 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Advice on books

Posted 08 February 2013 - 09:38 AM

So... Not really sure which direction I want to go in.. I am looking at these 4 books.. Anyone have any advice.

Beginning Programming with Java For Dummies -

Python Programming for the Absolute Beginner, 3rd Edition -

Beginning C++ Through Game Programming -

Introduction to C# Joes 2 Pros

I want to make my first language exciting and beable to do somthing with it while i`m getting deeper in it or learning somthing else..

So far i`ve heard it all from learn python first but aftr i learn it is it useful? I`ve learn getting into java or C# will take the programing out of programings for noobs. Then i`ve heard c++ is a good place to start and bad because of its complex.

Any advice?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Advice on books

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Advice on books

Posted 08 February 2013 - 09:54 AM

Look.. I know... we all want our first one to be something exciting and sensual so we over think where to start, but honestly java, c++, or c# are all good languages to start with. What is important is you learn the concepts behind the syntax.. loops, data structures, common data types, how objects interact, etc. That's what's important about your first one!
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 08 February 2013 - 10:01 AM

will they all do that?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 08 February 2013 - 10:06 AM

Check their indexes out on Amazon.. typically you can get an idea what they tell you by eyeballing the index.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Posted 08 February 2013 - 10:06 AM

yes.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is online

• Pancakes!
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 08 February 2013 - 10:21 AM