8 Replies - 1729 Views - Last Post: 09 February 2013 - 04:18 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

dynamic database concept

Posted 09 February 2013 - 03:20 PM

It has been established that data can be manipulated in order to fit into a database. I am a student currently working on the concept of this scenario in vice versa where the database can modify itself in order to fit the data. for example if we look at a database from a physical perspective we can say that the database is a container of data, similar to a glass of water.Think of how you pour water accordingly to fit a glass however this glass is required to adjust its own size i.e shrink or expand according to the volume of water being poured in. one purpose for this is to show how one database can be used to store different quality video streams online and on various devices as opposed to setting up a new database for each version of the same video. i was wondering if any one had any light to shed on this concept.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: dynamic database concept

#2 Dormilich  Icon User is online

• 痛覚残留
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: dynamic database concept

Posted 09 February 2013 - 03:23 PM

View Postcdella, on 09 February 2013 - 11:20 PM, said:

one purpose for this is to show how one database can be used to store different quality video streams online and on various devices as opposed to setting up a new database for each version of the same video.

I don’t understand that one. why would there be a need to use a new DB for each version of video?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 09 February 2013 - 03:33 PM

well for example a site like bbc iplayer which can stream the same video in different qualities dependant on your pc's competence. there is usually a different database for each version of this particular video
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 Dormilich  Icon User is online

• 痛覚残留
  • member icon