3 Replies - 1162 Views - Last Post: 12 March 2013 - 03:38 PM

#1 ivanov_o  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 16-January 13

Screen Resolution question

Posted 10 February 2013 - 04:34 AM

I'm working on a game engine and I frequently switch the resolution between the standard resolution for my screen(1024x768 32bit color) and several other modes like:

800x600 with 32, 16 or 8 bit color depth
or
640x480 with 32, 16 or 8 bit color depth

so I was wondering is it dangerous for the monitor to switch the resolution that often?
Thank you!
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Screen Resolution question

#2 Lemur  Icon User is offline

  • Pragmatism over Dogma
  • member icon


Reputation: 1368
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,445
  • Joined: 28-November 09

Re: Screen Resolution question

Posted 10 February 2013 - 11:39 PM

Virtual Machines. They work wonders for that type of thing.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#3 bobjob5  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: 21-January 13

Re: Screen Resolution question

Posted 21 February 2013 - 06:07 AM

VM Ware would be a great option for this. Or a second monitor.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#4 adgjlsfhk  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 89
  • Joined: 08-February 13

Re: Screen Resolution question

Posted 12 March 2013 - 03:38 PM

It isn't dangerous, just a pain. when you switch resolution or color depth, nothing in the hardware changes. All that changes is what information is sent to your monitor.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1