4 Replies - 1250 Views - Last Post: 13 February 2013 - 05:19 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Software project: Open Source development or closed team ?

Posted 11 February 2013 - 09:36 AM

Hello everybody, hope everything's fine for you today !
Quick introduction: I am Nicolas, 19, freshman and I know very little about Computer Science. Keyboard, screen, software and hardware are terms that I can explain but that's pretty much all about my knowledge in this domain :sweatdrop: . However, I am studying economics and know quite a bit about psychology and other Social Sciences. I know that learning is beneficial for people in many ways. This basic assumption leads me to imagine a relatively achievable project for improving education. That's it for the intro.

This project requires developing a software. My lack of credentials in software development combined to the peculiarity of the idea and the copyright laws have made me believe that commercial/traditional software developer companies would not bother discuss the idea with me, and even less develop it. "Socially-sensitive" software developer companies or associations seem not be willing to collaborate neither (or have problem with answering emails :mellow: ). This made me think to Open Source communities but there again problems exist :
-the final phases of the project require services that cannot be Open and Free like the software, requiring either creation of a privately-held company or some commercial partnership with existing companies. Basically, the software would be developed with Open source technics, but published and managed commercially. I believe this mix promises to be an unsolvable mess of legal and licensing problems if one is to hope that the project does not end up as a failure as exceptional as its potential.