5 Replies - 1863 Views - Last Post: 17 February 2013 - 12:04 PM

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: bitmap size exceeds VM budget

Posted 11 February 2013 - 07:28 PM

Hi, so I'm fairly new to Android development, and I've been transferring one of my Windows Phone games to Android. However, I ran into the error in the title: "java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: bitmap size exceeds VM budget". Here's the code real quick:

//Declares all of the Bitmaps that will be used
	private void DeclareBitmaps()
	{
		CircleBP[0] = BitmapFactory.decodeResource(getResources(), R.drawable.circle);
		CircleBP[1] = BitmapFactory.decodeResource(getResources(), R.drawable.circle2);
		CircleBP[2] = BitmapFactory.decodeResource(getResources(), R.drawable.circle3);
		CircleBP[3] = BitmapFactory.decodeResource(getResources(), R.drawable.circle4);
		CircleBP[4] = BitmapFactory.decodeResource(getResources(), R.drawable.circle5);
		CircleBP[5] = BitmapFactory.decodeResource(getResources(), R.drawable.circle6);
		CircleBP[6] = BitmapFactory.decodeResource(getResources(), R.drawable.circle7);
		GameTypeButtonBP = BitmapFactory.decodeResource(getResources(), R.drawable.gametype_button);
		IntenseButtonBP = BitmapFactory.decodeResource(getResources(), R.drawable.intense_button);
		MainMenuButtonBP = BitmapFactory.decodeResource(getResources(), R.drawable.mainmenu_button);
		NormalButtonBP = BitmapFactory.decodeResource(getResources(), R.drawable.normal_button);
		PauseButtonBP = BitmapFactory.decodeResource(getResources(), R.drawable.pause_button);
		PlayAgainButtonBP = BitmapFactory.decodeResource(getResources(), R.drawable.playagain_button);
		ResumeButtonBP = BitmapFactory.decodeResource(getResources(), R.drawable.resume_button);
		ReturnMenuButtonBP = BitmapFactory.decodeResource(getResources(), R.drawable.returnmenu_button);
		SeperationLineBP = BitmapFactory.decodeResource(getResources(), R.drawable.seperation_line);