• (2 Pages)
  • +

16 Replies - 5072 Views - Last Post: 01 March 2013 - 11:02 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Comparing options for learning C#

Posted 15 February 2013 - 07:56 AM

Hi all,
I'm not sure if this is the right forum for my question, but I'm an experienced software developer (over ten years) mulling some options for C# training. As a software developer currently looking for work, I've seen how big C# has gotten in the job market. My local university does not have a C# course this term, so at the moment I'm taking an advanced VB course. At least it's .NET

I have two main criteria for comparing training options. One, what option will help me learn the most. Two, what option will carry more weight with potential employers. My hope is that a class will help some even though most employers in my region want applicants to already have on the job C# experience. Typical catch-22 situation. They want job experience, but I can't get the job experience unless an employer will hire me to do it. Anyway... here are a couple options:

5 week long University of Phoenix C# course
1 week C# training with a certified instructor

Both cost $2,000-$2,500. I think I would learn more in a five week graded course, but I'm wondering if potential employers will think the 2nd option is better. Unfortunately that has to be a consideration.

Any thoughts? Other good options for C# training? I know I can pick up my C# book and study it myself, but in my experience telling an employer "I studied this on my own" carries zero weight. I would probably learn better in a course anyway.

-- Patrick

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Comparing options for learning C#

• D.I.C Lover

Re: Comparing options for learning C#

Posted 15 February 2013 - 08:09 AM

You can buy so many books for such a price and the course itself will cover the contents of an introductory book. You can buy the book for $60. You have $2,400 left.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover