6 Replies - 2071 Views - Last Post: 27 February 2013 - 10:21 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Breaking free from career pigeon holing

Posted 15 February 2013 - 08:10 AM

Hi all,
As I seek employment after over a decade with the same company, I can't help but notice how segmented the software development job market is. As a college student in the '90s I was not taught a whole bunch of languages. We were told, quite correctly in my opinion, that knowing concepts was far more important than trying to learn numerous languages, so most of our courses were centered on C++.

Now that I'm an experienced developer looking for work, I find that even in 2013 most employers don't think that way. Even for permanent positions they want someone who already has industry experience in exactly what language, platform, etc. they need. It's hard to get a foot in the door without it. At least that's my experience at the moment. I'm sure part of that is the still somewhat weak job market. Employers can be more picky.

At my previous job I wrote a lot of Ada (shudder, no one uses that anymore) and got several years of Java experience. The latter is my main selling point. Java Developer. I'm feeling more and more like that's the only thing employers will consider hiring me to do. I'm doing class/training work now to update my skills, but it still seems to be difficult to get a legitimate chance at other job positions. Learning another programming language isn't hard for me. My college profs were correct. The concepts are far more important. Yet employers aren't on board.

I guess I'm looking for some brainstorming. How do you break free from being pigeon holed into one segment of the software development job market?

-- Patrick

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Breaking free from career pigeon holing

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Breaking free from career pigeon holing

Posted 15 February 2013 - 08:20 AM