4 Replies - 586 Views - Last Post: 17 February 2013 - 11:02 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Can't get If-then-else to work

Posted 17 February 2013 - 04:30 PM

Hi all

I know that you are not to do my homework for me, but I've tried everything, EVERYTHING!
I am new to programming, and now I've started using the if-then-else function, but trying to make a little code just won't work.
Here is the code:

Private Sub Button1_Click(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
        Dim age As Integer

age = txtAge.Text

If age <= 17 Then
            MsgBox("Young.")
        ElseIf age <= 66 Then
            MsgBox("Adult.")
        ElseIf age <= 149 Then
            MsgBox("Old.")
            MsgBox("And retired.")
        Else
            MsgBox("You can only write numbers in the text-field.")
        End If
    End Sub
End Class

I've tried to change the Dim age to string, boolean and integer, but it's still the same, I still get the same error message, as it won't get past the first test - in this case, the [If age <= 17 Then] - it crashes.
I've tried to set the Else-message on the top, but I still can't get it to work. I've used several hours to make it work, but I just can't...

It's only a tiny part of my homework, but I've re-read my lecture several times, and checked on other sites, and it's supposed to work!
Please help!!

This post has been edited by Martyr2: 17 February 2013 - 04:52 PM
Reason for edit:: Fixed code tags, Remember it is [code]code here[/code] :)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Can't get If-then-else to work

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Can't get If-then-else to work

Posted 17 February 2013 - 04:59 PM

Well first of all the code should be working. Other than the fact you are trying to dump a text string into "age" it should still work if you don't have Option Explicit On.

Can you tell us what error messages you are getting and how it is crashing?