Total newb trying to read incoming serial port data in hex

• (2 Pages)
  • +

24 Replies - 3300 Views - Last Post: 26 February 2013 - 10:47 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Total newb trying to read incoming serial port data in hex

Posted 17 February 2013 - 04:36 PM

ok, i'm a total newbe at VB (or any object-oriented languages for that matter)

I'm trying to write a simple app for myself only, that can read continuous data coming into a serial port from a microcontroller. I eventually want to display it in a bunch of tachometer-like dials, but i'm a long ways from that point.

At this point, my trouble is i'm trying to learn how to read the incoming data, to make sure it's coming in successfully, and it's not.

I've doing a lot of surfing, and learning. I found plenty of stuff on how to read data from serial ports, including this tutorial that i followed: http://tiktakx.wordp...th-vb-net-2010/ That seems to work, but all i get in my output box is garbage: ??%?.???????? etc... I assume that's because i can't interpret hex that way.

I have been searching for how to read this data in hex, but all of the solutions i find online are too high-level for me to understand. I see people posting one-line code fixes, but i'm REALLY new, and i need more explanation on how to adjust them to match what i'm doing, and where to put them.

Here's the guts of my program, just like the tutorial shows:

Private Sub SerialPort1_DataReceived(sender As Object, ByVal e As System.IO.Ports.SerialDataReceivedEventArgs) Handles SerialPort1.DataReceived
        ReceivedText(SerialPort1.ReadExisting())    'Automatically called every time a data is received at the serialPort
    End Sub

Private Sub ReceivedText(ByVal [text] As String)
        'compares the ID of the creating Thread to the ID of the calling Thread
        If Me.rtbReceived.InvokeRequired Then
            Dim x As New SetTextCallback(AddressOf ReceivedText)
            Me.Invoke(x, New Object() {(text)})