Total newb trying to read incoming serial port data in hex

• (2 Pages)
  • +

24 Replies - 3903 Views - Last Post: 26 February 2013 - 10:47 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Total newb trying to read incoming serial port data in hex

Posted 21 February 2013 - 11:20 AM

View Postmike944, on 21 February 2013 - 11:23 AM, said:

Because lar3ry said the event handler executes when there is data waiting in the port buffer, I was just assuming that there is at least one byte waiting, so I am reading and processing each byte as soon as it's ready. This dispenses with the complexity of a checking loop to see if the right number of bytes are available. (but, it adds a loop to assemble the frame)

If i understand your code correctly, you're waiting until there is a full frame waiting, right?

When the event handler fires there will be at least .ReceivedBytesThreshold bytes available to be read. There may be more, but there won't be less. My code reads as many bytes as are available at the time the event fires. It then adds those bytes to the end of the list. That is all that it does. If the device is sending 26 bytes the event handler might fire several times. The event ONLY fires when new data has arrived. This means that if you receive 13 bytes, then another 13 bytes, the event handler will only fire twice.

You could try my code and put breakpoints in the event handler to see how it works. The same goes for the timer. The timer has a Stop already.

Threading.Monitor keeps separate pieces of code from manipulating objects from multiple threads. The DataReceived handler runs on a different thread the UI thread, so it is entirely possible that you have two pieces of code executing at the same time(if you have multiple cores), or nearly the same time. The timer runs on the UI thread. The UI thread is the only one that can manipulate controls on the form.

Here is a link that might ;)/>/> help http://msdn.microsof...v=vs.90%29.aspx