13 Replies - 2458 Views - Last Post: 22 February 2013 - 01:57 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Beginner in programming having trouble.

Posted 19 February 2013 - 06:32 PM

I am sure you get a lot of these threads, but I would love some feedback from you guys. Ok, so I love programming. I honestly think its very fun because you can be so open minded and independent with what you want to do when you program. But the thing that worries me the most is, I'm a freshman in College trying to learn C++, and honestly, as much fun i think programming is, it is also very hard for me. My first semester I learned C, now (Second sem.) we are programming in C++, while studying from the book which is in Java.

I want to know, is programming really this hard for everyone? I am willing to work really hard, but that "Programming isn't for everyone" quote scares me :(. The trouble I have is learning complicated syntax. Is it like this for every newcomer to programming?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Beginner in programming having trouble.

#2 cfoley  Icon User is online

• Cabbage
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Beginner in programming having trouble.

Posted 19 February 2013 - 06:51 PM

Syntax is just a matter of practice. The more frequently you use it, the sooner it becomes second nature.

Learning c++ from a Java book sounds a bit crazy. There is a lot of overlap but also some very important differences.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#3 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 19 February 2013 - 06:54 PM

I would doubt learning is the same for everyone.. and yes.. programming *is* hard, but once you get the hang of the theory and science of it all the syntax just becomes just a weekend chore. Why is it uniquely hard for you? I am not sure - I don't know who you are or what you are all about, but I do believe most everyone can, eventually, learn to program.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -