9 Replies - 2776 Views - Last Post: 14 March 2013 - 07:09 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

2D game development from scratch...

Posted 20 February 2013 - 04:24 AM

Good day everyone, I'm an engineer recently graduated in space engineering, and i decided to start the development of a videogame with a group of friends.

I'm not new to programming in general (as i have an extensive experience with Matlab coding), but I am reguarding videogames programming.I'm looking for the best and easier instrument to develope the videogame we have in our minds: a 2D game beat'em up style (a la castle crashers).
The final idea is to make this a hobby of mine with a product to sell if it turns out to be good enough.

At the moment I was looking at C++, as it is one the most known around, and it would also help when presenting a personal CV to eventual companies. The problem is in C++ I have absolutly no experience, and an extensive tutorial would help.

Obviusly if you have suggestion and tips, or advices on other development tools to use instead, they all are welcome.

Thanks!

ps: i wrote this post will i was giving a look around on the forum as it was one of the first things displayed immediatly after the registration...

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: 2D game development from scratch...

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: 2D game development from scratch...

Posted 20 February 2013 - 05:12 AM

C# using the XNA Framework is very easy to use and you can pop your game into the xbox live indie game marketplace (for a small fee). I absolutely love coding in XNA, have been for almost 3 years now :P
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 20 February 2013 - 06:47 AM