4 Replies - 723 Views - Last Post: 22 February 2013 - 11:37 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Segfault on SDL_Flip

Posted 21 February 2013 - 10:32 PM

Hello, this is my first post on DiC, it seems like a great community. I suppose I should give a little background on myself. I am trying to teach myself to program using C as a hobby (for the forseeable future) and I have been independently studying various computer science topics on and off for a few years now. I've managed to expand my understanding to a somewhat decent level but my knowledge is full of gaps that I hope to fill in time, so for all intents and purposes I'm a beginner to programming and especially C (I've dabbled in a few other languages but have forgotten everything). I feel pretty comfortable with the syntax of C and can complete basic tasks, also I welcome replies that are "above my head" so I can have an opportunity to pick up on new leads to learn about. I hope to gain a comfortable competence in coding and to eventually become a productive member of the growing software community.

Now for the problem. I'm trying to learn to use SDL for a project to create a simple game as a goal to focus on for practicing C. I'm following the Lazy Foo tutorials but trying to modify them for C instead of C++ which, so far, doesn't seem too fundemental to the concepts. I recently got stuck on tutorial 4 when I attempted to change the code from being centered around global variables to using local variables, namely the SDL_Surface *screen. I couldnt seem to find any straightforward answers on changing functions to work with local variables but I tried my best to pass *screen into a few functions and pass it on to be displayed. All was going well up until SDL_Flip which gave me a segmentation fault on execution of the program. Here is what I have:

// included header files
#include <stdio.h>
#include <SDL/SDL.h>
#include <SDL/SDL_image.h>

// constants
#define SCREEN_WIDTH 600