What do you think of this high school coding initiative?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

24 Replies - 3717 Views - Last Post: 04 March 2013 - 07:30 AM

Poll: What do you think of this high school coding initiative? (13 member(s) have cast votes)

Should programming be a high school course for everyone?

1. Yes (9 votes [69.23%] - View)

Percentage of vote: 69.23%

2. No (4 votes [30.77%] - View)

Percentage of vote: 30.77%

Vote Guests cannot vote

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

What do you think of this high school coding initiative?

Posted 26 February 2013 - 08:20 PM

As a high school student who isn't lucky enough to attend a school that offers any programming classes, you'd think I would be all-for such an initiative. But, as a senior and self-taught programmer, I really don't know what to think. Part of me would be upset if every public school started to offer (or require) such classes since I dedicated so much of my free time to learning to program on my own, but another part of me sees that it wouldn't really change much.

It's not like all of our jobs will disappear because of it. As I see it, smart, creative, passionate engineers and developers will always stand out, even if there's a little more competition. (And the real competition will probably only come from worthy competitors, anyway, although more "synthetically-taught" or introduced.) I think most people who are destined to go into software development will be curious enough to find out about the field on their own, anyway, and for the few smart would-be coders who would otherwise (without a political push for coding) not really get into the field, I think this is a great opportunity to at least give the select few (who are actually passionate about learning) a better chance of finding their passion and talent.