7 Replies - 1435 Views - Last Post: 01 March 2013 - 04:24 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 fireslayer26  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 28-February 13

PS3 for control?

Posted 28 February 2013 - 02:49 PM

Hey I'm writing a program that use the PS3 controller for input. I'm coding in VB .Net and I cannot get more than the d-pad and 4 buttons to work. I'm using direct input. Has anyone here got more than 4 buttons working?

Thanks.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: PS3 for control?

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9393
  • View blog
  • Posts: 35,273
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: PS3 for control?

Posted 28 February 2013 - 03:03 PM

what do you mean 'direct input'? Like in 'directx'?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 anonymous26  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,638
  • Joined: 26-November 10

Re: PS3 for control?

Posted 28 February 2013 - 03:15 PM

So you're hacking the controller?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 stayscrisp  Icon User is offline

  • フカユ
  • member icon

Reputation: 1009
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,197
  • Joined: 14-February 08

Re: PS3 for control?

Posted 28 February 2013 - 03:18 PM

To be honest, it would be pretty easy to just use some kind of application that assigns your controllers buttons, sticks and triggers to keyboard events and then you can handle those.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 fireslayer26  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 28-February 13

Re: PS3 for control?

Posted 28 February 2013 - 03:30 PM

Yes, I'm using directx directinput.

@stayscrisp- do you know of any programs that do that. Would it just run in the background of my program?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 anonymous26  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,638
  • Joined: 26-November 10

Re: PS3 for control?

Posted 28 February 2013 - 04:15 PM

View Poststayscrisp, on 28 February 2013 - 06:18 PM, said:

To be honest, it would be pretty easy to just use some kind of application that assigns your controllers buttons, sticks and triggers to keyboard events and then you can handle those.

Not entirely. I do know how to do it, but am not prepared to break Sony's terms of service.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 fireslayer26  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 28-February 13

Re: PS3 for control?

Posted 01 March 2013 - 09:28 AM

View PostButchDean, on 28 February 2013 - 04:15 PM, said:

Not entirely. I do know how to do it, but am not prepared to break Sony's terms of service.


Not sure how I would be breaking the terms of service. I'm not changing anything on the controller, just taking the input if gives me and making that do something. I found a program "Joy2Key" that binds joystick button presses to keyboard buttons. Which works, but I dont want to have a secondary program running to make this work. Does anyone know the VB .Net code to do that? Like if I press the 'Start' button on the controller, it sees that as a keyboard button press of 'L'.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 anonymous26  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,638
  • Joined: 26-November 10

Re: PS3 for control?

Posted 01 March 2013 - 04:24 PM

When you buy the any console at all there is small print that amounts to the fact that you agree to not reverse engineer the equipment in any way.

Doesn't matter anyway, you won't find out how to do it and I'm not giving any clues.

This post has been edited by ButchDean: 01 March 2013 - 04:24 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1