4 Replies - 1462 Views - Last Post: 09 March 2013 - 08:37 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Thinking about Software Development career, any advice?

Posted 02 March 2013 - 07:47 PM

I want to preface this by saying that I am a college student with ten months left to graduate. I am/have been majoring in Computer Information Systems, with a distention in Internet Security. While it is fun for me, it isn't quite what I thought it would be. From what I have read it is more just scripting skills (as far as programming skills go) for patches. What I mean is, most of the programming I would be doing is just placing a patch on something that creates a exploit.

Recently I have become very interested in programming. Well I mean that is the only courses that I have truly been interested in. So I was wondering if you people on here )and I am sure a lot if not 90% of you guys are software developers) think that even though my college degree is in CIS that I could get into the software development career, and how hard of a task that would be for me at this point.

I also enjoy pentesting. My school doesn't offer any classes related to just pentesting, but a couple of semesters ago I had a project where we looked in our desired career field (the class was career development). Pentesting really caught my eye and I have been interested ever since. I have bought a book that I am going to start working through on my own soon hopefully. It's just a basic pentesting book called: "The Basics of Hacking and Penetration Testing" by Patrick Engebretson. However, all the job postings I have seen reacquire X amount of years experience. Lots of jobs are like that though.

Anyway, I guess my question in short is, Should I just forget about software development for now, and focus on building my pentesting skills to hopefully find a job like that out of college, or could I pull off graduating and getting into software development.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +