Becoming a Java Progammer?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

28 Replies - 1858 Views - Last Post: 15 March 2013 - 02:25 PM Rate Topic: ***-- 2 Votes

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Becoming a Java Progammer?

Posted 04 March 2013 - 04:54 AM

Hey there!

I have a degree in Management but I am really looking to pursue a career in Programming.

I have a couple of questions I would be very grateful if someone could answer for me please

1)I have heard that Java is the most difficult language to learn.

2)Can you teach yourself Java or do you have to be academically trained?

3)How long does it take to become a Java Programmer?

Thanks

Kevin

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Becoming a Java Progammer?

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Re: Becoming a Java Progammer?

Posted 04 March 2013 - 04:58 AM

1. It's all relative. Some would probably say it is, but those people are in the minority. There is a good reason why Java is used as a teaching language for a lot of students.

2. Either will do the job. Although being 'properly trained' will get you the but of paper that may or may not make it easier for you to find work.

3. Indefinite. You don't magically become a Java programmer overnight. Writing good code is much different, and a lot harder and time consuming than just knowing how to program in Java. It all changes depending on your learning style etc. The problem is that a lot of people just learn the language and not actually how to program well. The latter is what gets you places.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 04 March 2013 - 05:01 AM

Nonsense.

Guidance from a skilled and experienced programmer will always be helpful, but one can make significant progress on one's own.

There's a well known essay that estimates ~10 years, but I can't find it at the moment.
Was This Post Helpful? 4
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 04 March 2013 - 05:10 AM

Thanks Ryan0121