7 Replies - 2144 Views - Last Post: 06 March 2013 - 03:58 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

New and looking for advice!

Posted 04 March 2013 - 02:02 PM

Hi there, my name is Jeremy and I'm new here. I'm also (somewhat) new to programming. I apologize if this next part does not fit in this section, I wasn't quite sure where to put it.

Let me give you a brief intro about me first, than I'll get into my advice seeking..

I'm 29 years old, married with 1 kid and 1 on the way. I have a bachelors degree in marketing (went to school originally for computer science, switched to computer information systems, and then switch to marketing...(NOT SURE WHY!!!!).

I took the first Java class, along with Visual basic and not only thoroughly enjoyed them, but Aced both of them as well. I know I want to get into software development, as I know I enjoy it and I'm pretty confident I'm in the group that is right for it (I have heard its not whether software development is right for you, but if you are right for it). As well, Math has always been my best subject.

Right now I have a few options that I've been weighing.

1) Go to the community college and get an associates degree in Computer science

2) Find an online college (NOT A FOR PROFIT LIKE UNIV OR PHOENIX) that offers a bachelors degree in computer science

3) Get my associates and then maybe try for a bachelors online (for example, I like FSU which has a good online computer science bachelors, but I dont' meet the prerequisites...but if I got my associates I probably would).

4) I MIGHT get into UGA's Master program in which I can do at night...the Masters is in internet technology, not computer science....but a big part of me thinks that if I'm going back to school and spending money, a masters looks better than an associates. But it's not necessarily software development, although I know that is a small part of the program.