10 Replies - 2637 Views - Last Post: 17 March 2013 - 09:48 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Importance of Algorithms?

Posted 07 March 2013 - 06:55 AM

I would like to know how important are algorithms in general when it comes to software development. The reason I ask is because I'm currently studying a Java book to build my fundamentals, but after this, I would like to begin working on some of the projects in Martyr2's Project List. So, is it necessary for me to gain more insight in algorithms before I start any serious coding projects. I saw an intersting book on algorithms here. Or should I just "learn as I go" because I remember baavgai saying in one post(cant remember which one) that software code would have to probably be refactored in the future anyway. So, I figured if I find a better algorithm for my software, I would refactor it.
What do you all think? I appreciate any feedback. :)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Importance of Algorithms?

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Importance of Algorithms?

Posted 07 March 2013 - 07:03 AM

It's a difficult question to answer as pretty much all the logic you put into a program is some kind of algorithm (well for the most part).

Do you need to know about all the different sorting algorithms? No. But you do need to get experience in developing your own algorithms to solve the problem at hand.

Knowing every single algorithm is not that important, being able to develop new ones that fit your needs is very important.

So I would say do look into them but don't spend hours studying every existing one - you will forget half of them anyways. It is a useful skill to be able to research existing algorithms that partially solve your problem and then be able to adapt them to fir your requirements.
Was This Post Helpful? 3
  • +
  • -

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 07 March 2013 - 07:29 AM