5 Replies - 1062 Views - Last Post: 17 March 2013 - 06:33 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

My web site looks different in firefox and internet explorer?

Posted 10 March 2013 - 08:46 PM

I am still a noob at creating web pages, not to noobish to the point where I do not understand what I created. But I finished my web site and I used HTML5 and CSS3 to create my web site using just notepad. From the time creating my web site I only viewed it in Google chrome because that is my preferred browser. However after uploading my web site to a web host I decided to view it in FireFox and Internet explorer just to test it out and now everything appears to the left side instead of the center. It does not look messed up at all it just displays the entire layout to the left side while everything else inside the layouts are centered.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: My web site looks different in firefox and internet explorer?

• Pragmatism over Dogma
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: My web site looks different in firefox and internet explorer?

Posted 10 March 2013 - 09:55 PM

Different default rulesets. Validate your CSS and make sure your code is up to snuff, that takes care of a number of these issues. Look into CSS resets beyond that.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 10 March 2013 - 10:23 PM

You'll come to find out that cross-browser compatibility is one of the biggest challenges with design these days, and when you're talking about CSS3 which to my knowledge isn't considered a 'standard' as of yet, not all browsers will support every tag even.

With pre-CSS3 CSS, you'll even need to take into account a few items will need to be prefixed with -moz or -webkit to get the effects to transpose. Once you know what you want to happen though, the answers are usually plentiful through searches.