6 Replies - 2267 Views - Last Post: 13 March 2013 - 09:13 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

outputting a random word on a label (vb6 typing game)

Posted 10 March 2013 - 10:49 PM

Good day all!!

I'm a college student and we've been given the task of making any vb6 game as a project.

I've decided that i'd make a simple typing game where words would pop out of a label for a few seconds (limited by a timer) and then after a few seconds another word would pop out of the label and would repeat for, say, 32 times.

I already got the logic of my project, the problem is that i don't know what function to use in outputting a random word. I know that it's got something to do with select case, where the words that would appear on the label would be listed and that my program would have to randomly pick out a word from that list of words. I've come across the random string function although i have no idea how to use it.

Anyone know of a function i could use for this exact purpose?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: outputting a random word on a label (vb6 typing game)

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: outputting a random word on a label (vb6 typing game)

Posted 11 March 2013 - 12:04 AM

It really depends on the words you want to output, if you are happy having the user type something like XssfErT, as opposed to the word Dollar, Mansion, etc...

either way, you will need to generate at least one random number. (Rnd() function)

first method you would start with a string such as 'abcdefgh-------' and just pick how ever many random letters with the mid() function and combine them into a string which you display on the label

the second method, you would need to load or code a list of pre-determined words into an array and use the random number to select a specific index, and display that elements word on the label. myarray(randomnumber) would return a random word.